We asked Michigan candidates running for Congress these 4 questions

Oct 24, 2016

All 435 seats in the U.S. House of Representatives are up for election on November 8th. Michigan holds 14 of those seats (at one time, Michigan held 19 seats in the House). Each congressional district has a population of approximately 710,000 people, according to the U.S. Census.

See the map below for the current makeup of Michigan's congressional districts. Hover over your area to see what district you live in, and click on your district to see who is running.

As a part of Michigan Radio's Election 2016 coverage, we sent a questionnaire to the two major party candidates from each congressional district. We sent the questionnaire at the beginning of this month. So far, we've heard back from 19 of the 28 candidates. 

We asked each candidate these four questions:

  1. What is the most important issue facing your district?
  2. How do you plan to address it?
  3. What book or movie have you seen/read recently that you recommend? Why?
  4. What will you do if you don't win the election?

Did your candidate respond to the questionnaire? If so, how? Follow the links below. 

1st District: 

Jack Bergman (Republican), Lon Johnson (Democrat) 

2nd District:

Bill Huizenga* (Republican - has not yet responded), Dennis Murphy (Democrat)

3rd District:

Justin Amash* (Republican), Douglas Smith (Democrat - has not yet responded), 

4th District:

John Moolenaar* (Republican),  Debra Wirth (Democrat - has not yet responded)

5th District:

Allen Hardwick (Republican), Dan Kildee* (Democrat)

6th District:

Paul Clements (Democrat), Fred Upton* (Republican)

7th District:

Gretchen Driskell (Democrat), Tim Walberg* (Republican - has not yet responded)

8th District:

Mike Bishop* (Republican), Suzanna ​Shkreli (Democrat)

9th District:

Sander Levin* (Democrat - has not yet responded), Christopher Morse (Republican)

10th District:

Frank Accavitti Jr. (Democrat), Paul Mitchell (Republican - has not yet responded) 

11th District:

Anil Kumar (Democrat), David Trott* (Republican - has not yet responded)

12th District:

Debbie Dingell* (Democrat), Jeff Jones (Republican) 

13th District:

John Conyers* (Democrat - has not yet responded), Jeff Gorman (Republican)

14th District:

Howard Klausner (Republican), Brenda Lawrence* (Democrat - has not yet responded)

* denotes the incumbent