91.7 Ann Arbor/Detroit 104.1 Grand Rapids 91.3 Port Huron 89.7 Lansing 91.1 Flint
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Michigan Radio wins 10 Michigan Associated Press awards


Michigan Radio was honored this weekend with 10 awards for news coverage from the Michigan Associated Press. The station was recognized with seven first-place awards and three second-place awards in the large market radio category. The large market radio category includes both public and commercial radio stations that serve Michigan’s largest market of Detroit. 

First Place

o   Best Spot News: "Detroit Bankruptcy," News Staff

o   Best News Documentary: “Unequal by Law,” Lester Graham

o   Best Feature Story: "WWII Veterans," Lindsey Smith

o   Best Website: www.michiganradio.org, Mark Brush

o   Best Spot Photojournalism: "Grand Rapids Flooding," Lindsey Smith

o   Best Individual Reporting: Sarah Hulett

o   Best Individual Photojournalism: Steve Carmody

Second Place

o   Best Natural Sound:  "Grand River," Lindsey Smith

o   Best Individual Photojournalism:  Lindsey Smith

o   General Excellence: Michigan Radio

Fifteen broadcasters submitted 254 entries in the contest, which featured news reports, features, documentaries and photography as well as sports and weather reporting from 2013. The awards were formally presented at a ceremony on Sunday, June 1 in Lansing.


Michigan Radio also picked up two prestigious regional Edward R. Murrow awards at Sunday’s ceremony. The Murrow Awards are presented by The Radio Television Digital News Association (RTDNA) to honor outstanding achievements in electronic journalism.

o   Edward R. Murrow Award, Large Market Radio News Documentary: “The Education Gap,” Jennifer Guerra for State of Opportunity

o   Edward R. Murrow Award, Large Market Radio News Website, www.michiganradio.org, Mark Brush


Michigan Radio was the only radio station in the state to be honored with a Murrow Award. Michigan Radio competes in Region 7, which consists of public and commercial stations in Michigan, Ohio, Indiana, and Illinois.