March Madness begins for three Michigan universities today

Mar 20, 2014

Big Ten tournament champion Michigan State University, runner-up University of Michigan and Mid-American conference champion Western Michigan University all play their first tournament games today. 

Among the three Michigan universities, the 14th seeded Western Michigan University Broncos face the biggest uphill climb in the NCAA men’s basketball tournament.   The Broncos make their first tournament appearance since 2004 in their game this afternoon (2:45pm) against the third seeded Syracuse Orange. 

Michigan State is making its 17th straight NCAA men’s tournament appearance.  The Spartans face the 13th seeded Delaware Blue Hens late this afternoon (4:40pm). 

The Wolverines are hoping for another trip to the national championship game.  2nd seeded U of M plays the 15th seeded Wofford Terriers this evening (7:10pm)   The Spartanburg, South Carolina college won the Southern conference title.

CORRECTION: An earlier version of this story said Michigan State was the Big Ten Champion. That honor, however, went to the University of Michigan. Michigan State was the winner of the Big Ten tournament.