91.7 Ann Arbor/Detroit 104.1 Grand Rapids 91.3 Port Huron 89.7 Lansing 91.1 Flint
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Michigan Radio's "Believed" Wins Webby Award


The International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences (IADAS) has announced Michigan Radio’s Believed podcast as the winner of the People’s Voice Award for Best Podcast - Mini Series in the 23rd Annual Webby Awards. The Webby Awards are the leading international awards organization honoring excellence on the Internet. The IADAS jury, which nominates and selects The Webby Award Winners, is comprised of digital industry experts, while the People’s Voice Award winner is chosen by the online community via a public vote which includes input from fans, creators, industry leaders and more.

The Believed podcast series from Michigan Radio and NPR provided an intimate look at how a team of female survivors, detectives, and prosecutors won justice in the Larry Nassar sexual abuse scandal. It was developed from the over two years of coverage of the case completed by Michigan Radio reporters. The Believed series was an exploration of the other side of this national scandal, that of the survivors and their families.

“We are thrilled that Believed resonated with the audience so strongly, that they showed their support by choosing us as a People’s Voice winner,” said Jodi Westrick, Digital Director for Michigan Radio. “From the beginning, this story was about the survivors who continue to tell us that ‘we got it’ in sharing their stories.”

The Believed team will be honored at the star-studded Webby Awards ceremony on Monday, May 13, 2019, at Cipriani Wall Street in New York City, where winners will have an opportunity to deliver one of The Webby Awards’ famous 5-Word Speeches.

About the Webby Awards:

Hailed as the “Internet’s highest honor” by The New York Times, The Webby Awards is the leading international awards organization honoring excellence on the Internet, including Websites, Video, Advertising, Media & PR, Apps, Mobile, and Voice, Social, Podcasts, and Games. Established in 1996, this year’s Webby Awards received nearly 13,000 entries from all 50 states and 70 countries worldwide. The Webby Awards is presented by the International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences (IADAS). Sponsors and Partners of The Webby Awards include: Instagram, WP Engine, EY, YouGov, Vitamin T, YouTube, WNYC Studios, Fast Company, ESA, Product Hunt, and Social Media Week.